Poetry Oh-noetry!

Yup, it’s that time of year, folks.

Don’t even know what that means. But my intentions are to get everything I wrote for Poetry as Performance up here on the blogz at some point.

So I suppose I’ll start with this twisted Christmas villanelle I wrote the day our poetry manucripts were due. I’m pleased with it; it makes me chuckle. I suck at making things a certain number of syllables per line, but I tried (caveat! lolololololollll)! Wish I was all hip up on dat iambic pentameter…

30. Christmas Nightmare (A Villanelle)
Her eyes twinkle like St. Nick’s as he bleeds
Betraying every bit of trust with ease
Underneath mistletoe she does the deed

The Grinch got hung up on his unchecked greed
Pilfering whatever the fuck he pleased
Her eyes twinkle like St. Nick’s as he bleeds

Had to be stopped before sowing the seed
Ritual sacrifice of Christmas trees
Underneath mistletoe she does the deed 

Only blood lust could satisfy those needs
Spilling hot cocoa first to beat the freeze
Her eyes twinkle like St. Nick’s as he bleeds 

On dark hearts two sizes too small she feeds
Redder than Rudolph’s nose her lips do tease
Underneath mistletoe she does the deed

From the tops of blackened lungs she decrees:
“Frosty the snowman ain’t got shit on me!”
Her eyes twinkle like St. Nick’s as he bleeds
Underneath mistletoe she does the deed

Leave a Reply

